In the writing within, you will find a variety of subjects and styles. And through them all, you will find that we are writers who know the length of the winter, the heat of the summer and the short breath-taking springs and autumns of Minnesota. Click the above link for a more in depth look at our past Talking Sticks and for purchasing information

The Talking Stick Volume: Nineteen

Table Of Contents

Luke Anderson
Marge Barrett
Doris Bergstrom
James Bettendorf
Bob Bjelkengren
Nicole Borg
Louise Bottrell
Tim J. Brennan
Andrew Scott Browers
Roxie Bulen
Carol Joan Campbell
Suzanne Cecere
Jean Childers
Jan Chronister
Sandra Clough
Patricia Conner
Gwen Schock Cowherd
Frances Ann Crowley
Joni L. Danzl
Deborah A. Davis
Charmaine Pappas Donovan
Harriet Duerre
Anne M. Dunn
Neil Dyer
Sandra Edlund
Shirley Ensrud
Beverly A. Erickson
Barbara Farland
Cindy Fox
Brianna Lynne Fynboh
Audrae M. Gruber
Laura L. Hansen
Sharon Harris
Betty Hartnett
Don Haugen
Audrey Kletscher Helbling
Marilyn Heltzer
Dennis Herschbach
Harrison Hicks
Marion C. Holtey
Harold Huber
Russell Jacobson
Andy Johnson
Kristin F. Johnson
Linda M. Johnson
Janice Kimes
Hope Klocker
Susan Koefod
Elisa Korentayer
Viola LaBounty
Elizabeth Eva Lampman
Kristin Laurel
Mike Lein
Jane Levin
Kathleen Lindstrom
Steve Linstrom
Dawn Loeffler
Renee Loehr
Moose Malmquist
Sister Kate Martin
Barbara Marshak
Nancy Bachhuber Massman
Tara McDaniel
Linda Back McKay
Susan McMillan
Marianne McNamara
Kathryn Kirmis Medellin
Jennifer Eudocia Sue Messenger
Jerry Mevissen
Virginia Miller
Marsh Muirhead
Sheila Myers
Deb Nelson
Lindsy J. O’Brien
Vincent D. O’Connor
Alberta Lee Orcutt
Timothy Otte
Lyla E. Owens
Debbie Pea
Susan Perala-Dewey
Kathleen J. Pettit
Niomi Rohn Phillips
Karsten Piper
Marsha C. Porter
Adrian S. Potter
Catherine Ritchie
Larry Schug
Andy Schwaderer
Richard Fenton Sederstrom
Candace Simar
Pat Spilseth
Susan Kathleen Spindler
Christine Stark
Doris Lueth Stengel
Scott Stewart
Marlene Mattila Stoehr
Penelope Swan
Connie Claire Szarke
Vern Thompson
John Thornberg
Roberta Tietge
Tara Troge
Peggy Trojan
Donna Trump
Ruth Jesness Tweed
Susan Niemela Vollmer
Bonnie West
LuAnne White
Cheryl Weibye Wilke
Jan Wolff
Marilyn Wolff
Tarah L. Wolff


The Talking Stick Volume Nineteen
Published: 2010

Poetry Winner ($500 Prize)
“Night Train”
by Russell Jacobson

Creative Nonfiction Winner ($500 Prize)
“A Second One”
by Susan Kathleen Spindler

Fiction Winner ($500 Prize)
“Prairie Promises”
by Barbara Marshak

Second Place Poetry ($100 Prize)
“Police Log Poem”
by Susan Niemela Vollmer

Second Place Creative Nonfiction ($100 Prize)
“Laundry Stories: Beethoven”
by Marsha C. Porter

Second Place Fiction ($100 Prize)
“South Side Spirits”
by Nicole Borg

Go to the official site of the Jackpine Writers’ Bloc to buy a Talking Stick

The Jackpine Writers’ Bloc is native to Minnesota. We are a writing group as well as a publishing company. Our literary journal, The Talking Stick, has become a state-wide publishing ground for amateur and experienced writers alike. Our goal in publishing writers is simple – we publish to encourage solid writing that shows promise, creativity and brilliance.