In the writing within, you will find a variety of subjects and styles. And through them all, you will find that we are writers who know the length of the winter, the heat of the summer and the short breath-taking springs and autumns of Minnesota. Click the above link for a more in depth look at our past Talking Sticks and for purchasing information

The Talking Stick Volume: Twenty Two

Table Of Contents

Luke Anderson
Robert K. Anderson
Lina Belar
Betty J. Benner
James Bettendorf
Scott Daniel Boras
Nicole Borg
Louise Bottrell
Beth Diane Bradley
Kirstin Ruth Bratt
Tim J. Brennan
Eric Chandler
Sharon Chmielarz
Chet Corey
Joanne Cress
Sue Reed Crouse
Frances Ann Crowley
Sharon K. Donahue
Charmaine Pappas Donovan
Barbara Draper
Neil Dyer
Larry Ellingson
Jeanne Everhart
Laurie Fabrizio
Katie Fish
Michael Forbes
Cindy Fox
David Francis
Katie Gilbertson
Flo Golod
Georgia A. Greeley
Marlys Guimaraes
Kari E. Hagstrom
Kate Halverson
Helen Hansen
Laura L. Hansen
Sharon Harris
Audrey Kletscher Helbling
Heidi Hemmer
Dennis Herschbach
Catherine Holm
Christine Madeline Holm
Marion C. Holtey
Rhoda Jackson
Kristin F. Johnson
Linda M. Johnson
George H. Johnston IV
Miriam Kagol
Sangita Kalarickal
Ryan W. Keller
Danny Klecko
Kathryn Knudson
Sonja Kosler
Rebecca J. Krystosek
Jamee Larson
Mike Lein
Kathleen Lindstrom
Renee Loehr
Sister Kate Martin
Margaret M. Marty
Marianne McNamara
Kathryn Kirmis Medellin
Jerry Mevissen
Michael Kiesow Moore
Joanne Moren
Marsh Muirhead
Laura K. Murray
Deb Nelson
Kelly Nelson
Ronald J. Palmer
Mike C. Paulus
Lucelia Pazar
Susan Perala-Dewey
Deanna Perchyshyn
Niomi Rohn Phillips
Shasha C. Porter
Adrian S. Potter
Kit Rohrbach
Jim Russell
Larry Schug
Richard Fenton Sederstrom
Sheri Smith
Susan Kathleen Spindler
Thomas C. Stetzler
Scott Stewart
Marlene Mattila Stoehr
Bob Sullivan
Sharon Tauber
David J. Thoelke
John Thornberg
Peggy Trojan
Susan Niemela Vollmer
Justin Watkins
Bonnie West
Mary Scully Whitaker
LuAnne White
Cheryl Weibye Wilke
Marilyn Wolff
Tarah L. Wolff
Kevin Zepper


The Talking Stick
Volume Twenty Two
In Retrospect
Published: 2013

Poetry Winner
“Getting Stoned with Virginia Woolf”
by Kari E. Hagstrom

Creative Nonfiction Winner
by Kit Rohrbach

Fiction Winner
“A River Runs Through I”
by Mike Lein

Second Place Poetry
“Early Bird”
by Scott Daniel Boras

Second Place Creative Nonfiction
“Attitude Adjustment Page”
by Dennis Herschbach

Second Place Fiction
“The Inventory”
by Flo Golod

Go to the official site of the Jackpine Writers’ Bloc to buy a Talking Stick

The Jackpine Writers’ Bloc is native to Minnesota. We are a writing group as well as a publishing company. Our literary journal, The Talking Stick, has become a state-wide publishing ground for amateur and experienced writers alike. Our goal in publishing writers is simple – we publish to encourage solid writing that shows promise, creativity and brilliance.