In the writing within, you will find a variety of subjects and styles. And through them all, you will find that we are writers who know the length of the winter, the heat of the summer and the short breath-taking springs and autumns of Minnesota. Click the above link for a more in depth look at our past Talking Sticks and for purchasing information

The Talking Stick Volume: Twenty Four

Table Of Contents

Angela Ahlgren
Lina Belar
James L. Bettendorf
Jesse Birnstihl
Nicole Borg
Beth Diane Bradley
Janice Larson Braun
Tim J. Brennan
Stephanie Brown
Eric Chandler
Jan Chronister
Mary A. Conrad
Chet Corey
Sue Reed Crouse
Frances Ann Crowley
Charmaine Pappas Donovan
Larry Ellingson
Jeanne A. Everhart
Laurie Fabrizio
Cindy Fox
Annaliese Gehres
Georgia A. Greeley
Marlys Guimaraes
Kate Halverson
Patrick Cabello Hansel
Laura L. Hansen
Paula L. Hari
John Harrington
Sharon Harris
Audrey Kletscher Helbling
Nancy Hengeveld
Jennifer Hernandez
Sandra Howlett
Mary Willette Hughes
Rhoda Jackson
Arnie Johanson
Mary Jones
Mim Kagol
Meridel Kahl
Paisley Kauffmann
Ryan W. Keller
Kathryn Knudson
Susan Koefod
Sonja Kosler
Kim A. Larson
Kristin Laurel
Mike Lein
Kathleen Lindstrom
Linda Maki
Cheyenne Marco
Scharlie Martin
Margaret M. Marty
Michael McCormick
Susan McMillan
Jerry Mevissen
René Bartlett Montgomery
Joanne Morén
Anne Morgan
Ryan M. Neely
Patricia Nelsen
David Eric Northington
Ronald j. Palmer
Kathleen J. Pettit
Niomi Rohn Phillips
Shasha C. Porter
Adrian S. Potter
Al Rieper
Kit Rohrbach
Deb Schlueter
Mary Schmidt
Larry Schug
Richard Fenton Sederstrom
Thadra Sheridan
Gene R. Stark
Peter William Stein
Doris Lueth Stengel
Thomas C. Stetzler
Scott Stewart
Marlene Mattila Stoehr
Annie Stopyro
Janet Thompson
Joseph E. Tietge
Peggy Trojan
Ruth Jesness Tweed
William Upjohn
Steven R. Vogel
Susan Niemela Vollmer
Justin Watkins
Bonnie West
Andrea Westby
Cheryl Weibye Wilke
Marilyn Wolff
Tarah L. Wolff
Kevin Zepper


The Talking Stick
Volume Twenty Four
Published: 2015

Poetry Winner
“On the Occasion of My Untimely Demise”
by Adrian S. Potter

Creative Nonfiction Winner
“Terminal Burrowing”
by Kristin Laurel

Fiction Winner
“Sure Shot”
by Al Rieper

Second Place Poetry
“Broken Bowl”
by Cindy Fox

Second Place Creative Nonfiction
“What You Can Hear Carried on the Wind”
by Kathryn Knudson

Second Place Fiction
“Book by Book”
by Bonnie West

Go to the official site of the Jackpine Writers’ Bloc to buy a Talking Stick

The Jackpine Writers’ Bloc is native to Minnesota. We are a writing group as well as a publishing company. Our literary journal, The Talking Stick, has become a state-wide publishing ground for amateur and experienced writers alike. Our goal in publishing writers is simple – we publish to encourage solid writing that shows promise, creativity and brilliance.