In the writing within, you will find a variety of subjects and styles. And through them all, you will find that we are writers who know the length of the winter, the heat of the summer and the short breath-taking springs and autumns of Minnesota. Click the above link for a more in depth look at our past Talking Sticks and for purchasing information

The Talking Stick Volume: Twenty Five

Table Of Contents

Pagyn Alexander
Lina Belar
James Bettendorf
Micki Blenkush
Nicole Borg
Beth Diane Bradley
Janice Larson Braun
Tim J. Brennan
Stephanie Brown
Sue Bruns
Sandra Melchisedech Burwell
Eric Chandler
Sharon Chmielarz
Jan Chronister
Mary A. Conrad
Chet Corey
Susan Coultrap-McQuin
Sue Reed Crouse
Frances Ann Crowley
Zach Czaia
Joni L. Danzl
Nancy Devine
Charmaine Pappas Donovan
Cynthia Ekren
Larry Ellingson
Jeanne Emrich
Shirley Ensrud
Jeanne A. Everhart
Edis Flowerday
Cindy Fox
Mike Gainor
Carson T. Gardner
Shelley Getten
Katie Gilbertson
Georgia A. Greeley
Marlys Guimaraes
Kari E. Hagstrom
Bethany Bridge Hammer
Laura L. Hansen
Sharon Harris
Angele (Burlingame) Hartell
Audrey Kletscher Helbling
Linda Henry
Jennifer Hernandez
Sandra Howlett
Susu Jeffrey
Jennifer Jesseph
Arnie Johanson
Charles Johnson
Deane Johnson
Sawyer Johnson
Mary Jones
Meridel Kahl
James Robert Kane
Mary Christine Kane
Karen Kasland
Paisley Kauffmann
Ryan W. Keller
P. Helen Kester
Romayne Kilde
Norma Thorstad Knapp
Kathryn Knudson
Sonja Kosler
Kim A. Larson
Sandra Sidman Larson
Kristin Laurel
Mike Lein
Kathleen Lindstrom
Gail Lipe
Dawn Loeffler
Linda Maki
Cheyenne Marco
Margaret M. Marty
Michael McCormick
Susan McMillan
Kathryn Medellin
Jerry Mevissen
René Bartlett Montgomery
Michael Kiesow Moore
Ryan M. Neely
Joni Norby
David Eric Northington
Ronald j. Palmer
Yvonne Pearson
Susan Perala-Dewey
Kathleen Pettit
Niomi Rohn Phillips
Adrian S. Potter
Rebecca Ramsden
Deborah Rasmussen
Amy C. Rea
Kit Rohrbach
Lane Rosenthal
Jim Russell
Katherine Schaefer
Deb Schlueter
Mary Schmidt
Ruth M. Schmidt-Baeumler
Larry Schug
Richard Fenton Sederstrom
Candace Simar
Peter Stein
Doris Lueth Stengel
Thomas C. Stetzler
Scott Stewart
Harlan Stoehr
Marlene Mattila Stoehr
Sister Rafael Tilton, OSF
Mark Traynor
Peggy Trojan
Karen Turner
William Upjohn
Joel Van Valin
Rosemary Vaughn
Steven R. Vogel
Susan Niemela Vollmer
Justin Watkins
Miriam Weinstein
Bonnie West
Cheryl Weibye Wilke
Florence Witkop
Eric Wolff
Tarah L. Wolff
Cathy Ann Wood
Marie Zhuikov


The Talking Stick
Volume Twenty Five
Voices: Past & Present
Published: 2016

Poetry Winner
by Meridel Kahl

Creative Nonfiction Winner
“The Word Collage, From the French, Means to Glue”
by Sue Reed Crouse

Fiction Winner
“Delicate Tissue”
by Paisley Kauffmann

Second Place Poetry
by Peter Stein

Second Place Creative Nonfiction
“Cleaning John’s House”
by Cindy Fox

Second Place Fiction
“No Place Like Home”
by Cheyenne Marco

Go to the official site of the Jackpine Writers’ Bloc to buy a Talking Stick

The Jackpine Writers’ Bloc is native to Minnesota. We are a writing group as well as a publishing company. Our literary journal, The Talking Stick, has become a state-wide publishing ground for amateur and experienced writers alike. Our goal in publishing writers is simple – we publish to encourage solid writing that shows promise, creativity and brilliance.