In the writing within, you will find a variety of subjects and styles. And through them all, you will find that we are writers who know the length of the winter, the heat of the summer and the short breath-taking springs and autumns of Minnesota. Click the above link for a more in depth look at our past Talking Sticks and for purchasing information

The Talking Stick Volume: Twenty Nine

Table Of Contents

Dorothy Anderson
Lina Belar
James Bettendorf
Micki Blenkush
Nicole Borg
Kim M. Bowen
Mary Lou Brandvik
Janice Larson Braun
Ed Brekke-Kramer
H. A. Brown
Sue Bruns
Mary A. Conrad
Frances Ann Crowley
Norita Dittberner-Jax
Charmaine Pappas Donovan
Neil Dyer
Larry Ellingson
Christine Madline Ellsworth
Jeanne Emrich
Jeanne Everhart
Jennifer Fackler
Marsha Foss
Cindy Fox
Kathryn Ganfield
Shelley Getten
Katie Gilbertson
Matt Gregersen
Ilse Griffin
Marilyn Groenke
Christine J. Grossman
Marlys Guimaraes
Tara Flaherty Guy
Michael Hager
Laura L. Hansen
Sharon Harris
Audrey Kletscher Helbling
Jennifer Hernandez
Susu Jeffrey
Jennifer Jesseph
Mary Jones
Meridel Kahl
Paisley Kauffmann
Chuck Kausalik-Boe
Patricia Kemmerick
Kathryn Knudson
Sonja Kosler
Laura Krueger-Kochmann
Viola LaBounty
Kristin Laurel
David LeCount
Mike Lein
Dawn Loeffler
Linda Maki
Cheyenne Marco
Christine Marcotte
Julie Martin
Adam McFarlane
Susan McMillan
Christopher Mueller
Marsh Muirhead
Ryan M. Neely
Julia Silverberg Nemeth
Vincent O’Connor
Yvonne Pearson
Kathleen J. Pettit
Niomi Rohn Phillips
Adrian S. Potter
Deborah Rasmussen
Avesa Rockwell
Kit Rohrbach
Lane Rosenthal
Mary Schmidt
Ruth M. Schmidt-Baeumler
Richard Fenton Sederstrom
Victoria Lynn Smith
LeRoy N. Sorenson
Maurice Spangler
Doris Stengel
Anne Stewart
Marlene Mattila Stoehr
J. M. S. Swanson
Bernadette Hondl Thomasy
Peggy Trojan
Lucy Tyrrell
Joel Van Valin
Steven R. Vogel
Susan Niemela Vollmer
Laura Weinberg
Elizabeth Weir
Ben Westlie
Pam Whitfield
Cheryl Weibye Wilke


The Talking Stick
Volume Twenty Nine
Published: 2020

Poetry Winner
“Parting Song”
by Laura L. Hansen

Creative Nonfiction Winner
“The Cut Glass Bowl”
by Marlene Mattila Stoehr

Fiction Winner
“The Last Day”
by Kathryn Knudson

Humor Winner
“The Plumber”
by Pam Whitfield

Second Place Poetry
“The New Dog”
by Marsh Muirhead

Second Place Creative Nonfiction
“Flying Minnie”
by Sue Bruns

Second Place Fiction
“The Eighth Step is Amends”
by Paisley Kauffmann

Go to the official site of the Jackpine Writers’ Bloc to buy a Talking Stick

The Jackpine Writers’ Bloc is native to Minnesota. We are a writing group as well as a publishing company. Our literary journal, The Talking Stick, has become a state-wide publishing ground for amateur and experienced writers alike. Our goal in publishing writers is simple – we publish to encourage solid writing that shows promise, creativity and brilliance.