In the writing within, you will find a variety of subjects and styles. And through them all, you will find that we are writers who know the length of the winter, the heat of the summer and the short breath-taking springs and autumns of Minnesota. Click the above link for a more in depth look at our past Talking Sticks and for purchasing information

The Talking Stick Volume: Thirty Two

Table Of Contents

Julie Adrian
Karen Anderson
Robert J. Beck
André Bergeron
Micki Blenkush
Nicole Borg
Mary Lou Brandvik
Janice Larson Braun
Lisa Brodsky
Stephanie Brown
Sue Bruns
Sharon Chmielarz
Jan Chronister
Susan Coultrap-McQuin
Joanne Cress
Frances Ann Crowley
Susan Culhane
Norita Dittberner-Jax
Charmaine Pappas Donovan
Sandra Hughes Eberhart
Isabel Emerson
Jeanne A. Everhart
Barbara Farland
Cindy Fox
Colleen H. Gengler
Shelley Getten
Georgia A. Greeley
Marlys Guimaraes
Tara Flaherty Guy
Laura L. Hansen
JJ Harrigan
Sharon Harris
Margaret Hasse
Audrey Kletscher Helbling
Jennifer Hernandez
Mary Willette Hughes
Meridel Kahl
Marcus Kessler
Kelly Kiker
Vicky A. King
Kathryn Knudson
Susan Koefod
Laura Krueger-Kochmann
Christina Joyce
Kristin Laurel
Mike Lein
Roxanne Lien
Kathleen Lindstrom
Jayna Locke
Dawn Loeffler
Chris Marcotte
Alice Marks
Erin Lynn Marsh
Julie L. Martin
Susan McMillan
Jennifer Miller
Marsh Muirhead
Ryan M. Neely
Ann Marie Newman
Joni Norby
Vincent O’Connor
Kathleen Pettit
Adrian S. Potter
Deborah Rasmussen
Kit Rohrbach
David Ross
Stephanie Sanderson
Ruth M. Schmidt-Baeumler
Richard Fenton Sederstrom
Victoria Lynn Smith
Beth Spencer
Anne Stewart
Steven R. Stromme
Bernadette Hondl Thomasy
Carissa Jean Tobin
Peggy Trojan
Lucy Tyrrell
Joel Van Valin
Steven R. Vogel
Susan Niemela Vollmer
Justin Watkins
Mary Scully Whitaker
Cheryl Weibye Wilke
Joshua Wolff
Marilyn Wolff
Pamela J. Wolters


The Talking Stick
Volume Thirty Two
Twist in the Road
Published: 2023

Poetry Winner
Jennifer Hernandez

Creative Nonfiction Winner
“Who is Norma Jean?”
Roxanne Lien

Fiction Winner
Isabel Emerson

Creative Twist Winner
“One More Chance”
Chris Marcotte

Second Place Poetry
Meridel Kahl

Second Place Creative Nonfiction
Tara Flaherty Guy

Second Place Fiction
Tara Flaherty Guy

Second Place Creative Twist
“Driving Companion”
Jennifer Hernandez

Go to the official site of the Jackpine Writers’ Bloc to buy a Talking Stick

The Jackpine Writers’ Bloc is native to Minnesota. We are a writing group as well as a publishing company. Our literary journal, The Talking Stick, has become a state-wide publishing ground for amateur and experienced writers alike. Our goal in publishing writers is simple – we publish to encourage solid writing that shows promise, creativity and brilliance.